It used to be fun

So, it’s valentine’s week, is it? It must be, as hubby has bought two great big bunches of daffodils. He knows they are my favourite flowers. It must be because they look like golden trumpets and jazz always makes me happy.

Goodreads had suggestions for romantic reads but I didn’t suggest my novel. ” A Lesson for the Teacher” as, although I intended it to be a romance, it turned out to be more a ‘coming of age/adult tale.’ Naturally it included loves and losses but they were only part of the story and the man who was the main romantic interest wasn’t at all like the ’50 shades’ type of man. Setting it in the 1960’s helped me to include that odd mixture of innocence and daring that marked out the ‘ Swinging sixties.’ It seems so long ago.

I doubt if I’ll write an eighth novel, especially after reading “The Light Years” by Elizabeth Jane Howard. What an eye opener, and only the first of a collection! I say I don’t like historical novels but this was such a fine book I felt overwhelmed. Of course it has been dramatised and I would probably never see it but it isn’t only the story, it is also the quality of the writing that made me feel like a real amateur.

 

A-Lesson-for-the-Teacher-CV-600x900
A lesson for the Teacher cover

Never mind, I’ve ordered a book on editing so should be learning more of my craft soon!

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels in Worthing. After eight locally based relationship novels I have now written a children's story which could be considered a pastiche of Beverley Nichol's works which I loved as a child and still remember fondly. " Penny Down the Drain" may remind folk of " Alice in Wonderland " or " Narnia." but it is set in the 21st century. Our two sons are similarly creative as one is a journalist and the other an actor. When there is no pandemic I am the publicity secretary for Worthing Friendship Centre and listen to live music , folk and jazz.

Leave a comment