Choosing Books

Each week I take up to four books out of the library and choose them in two main ways.

First I look at the cover. A dramatic photo attracts me more than an illustration. If it is pink ,with a cartoon, I’ll leave it. If it has a man and a woman in a clinch, I’ll ignore it. If it has a cowboy or a spaceship I’ll probably not choose it, but if it has a lonely figure walking down a lamplit street I might pick it up – or if it has a beach, a door or an interesting looking building.

The second thing I do is turn it over and read the back. If it is police procedural I will probably put it back, although I enjoy some crime novels where the person who solves it is not a detective.

If the story seems character driven I’ll note whether it is set in the USA or GB. If it is in America I tend to stick to the same few favourite authors. If it is in Britain I’ll look to see the size of the print. I rarely read a novel with small print unless it has been recommended.

I still make mistakes and pick up the same book twice. This week it was because the blurb mentioned Yorkshire. As soon as I started reading I realised it was familiar. I do keep a record of books read but I don’t have it with me in the library.

No problem. I have three more to read this week. A thought-when do publishers decide that the name of the author should be in bigger print that the title of the book? #amreading

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

One thought on “Choosing Books”

Leave a Reply

