Pantomime

I should have written ” not TOO well.” ( bit late for proof reading!)Anyway , I feel better today and had a card from hubby that I must share:

‘Having read so much about the ageing effects of chocolate and alcohol Julie immediately decided to give up reading.’That made me laugh – something that is concerning me at the moment. How to make people laugh.I have started putting the panto on computer but it hasn’t any jokes and pantos must have jokes!

I  ignored the usual ones, Cinderella and Aladdin and chose The Wizard of Oz. There’s plenty of opportunity for slapstick but usually the scriptwriters put in topical jokes. I have moved the story to GB and I have one joke about potholed roads ( instead of the yellow brick road) but I need to find some Christmas cracker type jokes to include.

There won’t be the usual man dressed as a pantomime dame, or girl as a principal boy and it will probably have to be performed without a set, or just read. I do record for the blind and they could use it if they had the right voices and if they thought it was good enough or funny enough! More research needed – at least it’s keeping me busy.

 

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

Leave a Reply

