Self publishing mistakes

Had a marketing meeting yesterday and it reminded me of all the mistakes I made when I began self publishing.

We should put our website in our books, but I have an excuse, I have changed my website provider twice and the one in 2007 doesn’t exist any more!The two I have now are http://www.juliecround.com and http://www.juliecround.co.uk.

It is good to put a chapter of your next book in the one you are publishing (but that’s impossible if you haven’t written it!)

Some folk actually ask for reviews in their books. I think this works better in ebooks. It seems a bit cheeky in a paperback.

Pictures, pictures, pictures. We must try to use social media. ( Hard for an oldie like me, but I’m trying.) I still avoid facebook but I am on twitter. Now to try to get more photos on!

Blogging is useful but I still have more folk from USA.Never mind, quality over quantity every time!

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

Leave a Reply

