Theatre review

Saw an excellent production of ‘Les Miserables’ (without music) yesterday by Sutton Amateur Dramatic Club.This was the Jonathan Holloway version with a most adaptable set and a skilled cast. I was especially impressed with Eponine and those cast members who took on more than one part and managed to look and sound different each time. There aren’t many actors who would attempt four characters in one play. Congratulations to the whole company.

There’s something special about amateur dramatics. I remember the time I appeared in a play for a festival. I was supposed to be a queen but the adjudicator said I walked as if I was off to a hockey match! Oh dear ( We didn’t win) My ¬†favourite performances were in Shakespeare at school, where I always had to play a man as it was a girl’s school. I even had to have fencing lessons for one production. Time to get back to reality. J.

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

Leave a Reply

