Old stories

What do you do with your old stories? I don’t mean ones you have read; I mean ones you wrote years ago and kept copies. I write so much I have bags and boxes full of stories, most of which have been rejected by various magazines. I have a file of poems, many of them only relevant at the time they were written but, somewhere, I have an unfinished novel and short stories galore.

I have magazines I dare not throw away as they have a story or an article I have had published and very little space to add to the collection. Luckily, all copies of the poetry book we wrote as a group have been sold or given away but I am drowning in paper, with no filing system, just shelves and cupboards.

Do you keep the manuscripts of your books after they have been printed? If  I could destroy them I would have more space.It’s no fun being a hoarder.

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

One thought on “Old stories”

  1. I recently pulled out and reread four stories written about twenty years ago. I never published them, but submitted them to a critique service, which treated them pretty harshly. They are indeed cringe-worthy in retrospect. Hopefully, that means I’ve improved quite a lot since!

    Like

Leave a Reply

