Which books?

Each week I choose four books from the mobile library and bring them home to read. I rarely pick a known author. I read the back and decide whether I am in the mood for a family saga or a thriller.

The last book I started made me think of my choices.It is completely plot driven – as is usual with detective stories. I honestly don’t know why they are so popular. If you don’t like the character of the detective why should you care about the story?

This is the second time I have found myself struggling to finish a book. I can see that I need character driven novels and, of course, there are some detective stories that have interesting characters ( Holmes, for instance)

Which do you prefer? Can you enjoy both? I can enjoy detective programmes on TV but , from now on, I’ll avoid them in books!

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

3 thoughts on “Which books?”

  1. I too am struggling to finish a book. It turned out to be too much of a romance for my taste. I used to read a lot but the intensity of my reading has slowed down over the past couple of years. I still manage to read 15 to 20 books a year though.

    Like

  2. Well I can relate to this. I can not repeat the same genre. Sometimes I start reading 2-3 different books at a time. I read one In the morning, carry another in metro and read the last one in bed. My needs depend on my mood. I don’t know if I am losing interest or the stories are not that magnatic

    Like

Leave a Reply

