Places

It seems I am getting known at last. I have had two more bookings for a talk in 2017 and will need to remember more about my life before writing as listeners seem to prefer hearing about all the places we have lived in and the jobs I have done. I have recently met some people who are now retired and who have never lived anywhere other than their home village or town.

When we were about to retire I thought about what we would like- nearby shops, the sea, a railway station, theatre or cinema and some countryside. But I suspect we need different things at different stages of our lives. I was in London in my youth, which was great for entertainment, I was in the country at college, and on the coast when we got married. We were in the suburbs with our children and then the Green Belt which was almost perfect.

Now we are by the sea again and all the boxes are ticked. I don’t think we’ll move again.

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

Leave a Reply

