Flower poem

I wrote a poem and took a picture on my phone but it doesn’t seem to have found its way to my computer.

Convulvulus

I looked for you in a book of flowers

Your large petticoat-white blooms

Should merit a mention

I thought.

But all I found was a cousin

A neat shrub, not a climber.

Nowhere did it show

Your choking tendrils.

Your ‘Granny-jump -out -of- bed’ flowers

Were mocking me from the top of the wall.

I hope the shrubs you strangle

Will survive.

If I try to pull you won’t untangle

And I break branches of the plants that I admire.

I must twist your snake-like threads

From the lilac.

I can unwind them from the buddlia, in full bloom.

I can chop you at the root and see you shrivel

Making the green privet brown

And scruffy.

But next year you’ll be back, I know

With your sly companion Ivy – just to make

Gardening an effort rather than a pleasure

As I fill the bin.

JCR.

 

 

 

Published by

juliecroundblog

I am a retired schoolteacher now writing novels on the Sussex coast where I live with my husband. I record for the Voice of Progress talking newspaper and am the publicity secretary for the Worthing Friendship Centre. I also give talks on my life and works to local groups.

Leave a Reply

